My Mental Health Journey – CBT #2

Ayup mi ducks! ๐Ÿ™„

Okay, weird Yorkshire slang aside, I had my second CBT session today and thought I’d give you a quick update!

picsart_01-06-01-22-27

So for the past week, I have been practicing all of the self-help techniques, recommended in my first therapy session (you can read about them here). I know it’s only been 7 days, but I honestly do feel so much better. Don’t get me wrong, there’s a long LONG way to go. But understanding my mental illness, is so so helpful and is allowing me to control my thoughts and worries.

This weeks topic was ‘Intolerance to Uncertainty’, which is something I struggle withย A LOT. Whether it be driving somewhere I don’t know, needing constant reassurance or worrying that I’ve made the wrong decision – uncertainty makes me anxious every single day without fail.

We had a long chat about which type of ‘uncertainties’ make me the most anxious (pretty much every type, it turns out) and we developed tasks in order to help me overcome the anxiety. To put it simply, if I am uncertain what is going to happen, I just have to deal with it. The example he used was: if someone with severe social anxiety opens the door and instantly becomes anxious, they will usually just go back inside. Then every time they are in that situation, their brain will tell them to just go back inside again. Whereas, if they stand on the doorstep and breathe deeply, the anxiety will eventually go away. Each time they do this they will become less and less anxious, which teaches the brain that there’s no danger outside. So for the next week, I’m not allowed to seek reassurance and I have to be spontaneous. Help.

I have my third session next week, then after that I’ll be having sessions fortnightly instead of weekly. I’m actually really looking forward to learning more about how my brain works (maybe that’s just the nerdy science side of me), but honestly, it is helping so much more than I imagined!

I’ll let you all know how I get on next week!!!

X

jade-x

2 thoughts on “My Mental Health Journey – CBT #2

Leave a Reply

