MY MH HEALTH JOURNEY – TELLING ALL!

So this week will probably be a short one again, I’m sorry. I’m rushed off my feet with university work (the joys of third year) and I’m also working hard on improving my mental health. I thought I’d give you all a quick update on ‘My Mental Health Journey’ (you can find the last post here).

So the past few weeks have been an absolute rollercoaster. After a lifetime of keeping my mental illnesses a secret, I have somehow managed to tell the world in the last 3 months.

I’m still taking Sertraline, however the doctor wants to up my dose next time. It’s working. I feel so much better. But it definitely comes with its side effects.

(WARNING: IF YOU ARE EASILY GROSSED OUT, PLEASE STOP READING).

As well as the migraines, the indigestion, the heart burn, sore throat and dizziness, I’ve also had a 6 week-long period. Now when I first read the leaflet inside my pills, I didn’t take ‘vaginal haemorrhage’ too seriously. But oh boy, it’s a real thing and it’s absolutely horrendous. Not to worry though, I have another doctors appointment soon and I’ll get it sorted!

Anyway, back to the real reason for writing this post.

I TOLD MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS.

I had no idea how I was going to do it. I didn’t want my family to worry and I really didn’t want my friends to think differently of me. But I shouldn’t have been worried.

I told my mum after a couple of glasses of red and we had a little heart-to-heart. It turns out that she’s experienced all of this before and it probably wasn’t just her curly hair that I inherited. She’s been so supportive and I’m very grateful (and relieved that I finally told her).

I’ve also told two of my uni friends, mainly because I didn’t want them to become suspicious of all the days off I’ve been having. They’ve been fab and both know at least one other person who has anxiety and/or depression.

So yeah, basically I just wanted to tell you that it’s GOOD to tell people. When you’re ready, of course. I feel like a huge weight has been lifted and now I have so much support. Please tell people, please get help.

I’ll update you all again in a few weeks, but for now – love you, bye!

jade-x

4 thoughts on “MY MH HEALTH JOURNEY – TELLING ALL!

Leave a Reply

