September Roundup!

Okay so firstly, how the hell is it October already!? It feels like I blinked once and missed the entire year. But anyway, September, what a weird month. I’ve had some amazing moments this past month, but it’s also been one of the longest months of my life. Here are a few of the best bits!

1. My parents adopted a Dogue De Bordeaux!!!

boss

Boss, being very grumpy.

Earlier in the year, I received the most devastating news. My 14-year-old Rottweiler, Tia, had passed away in her sleep. This broke the whole family and I never thought we would get another dog. However, it was soon very apparent just how broken the family was without her. We missed the presence of a “guard dog”, her amazing personality and even that she was always in the way. My other dog, Scruff the miniature schnauzer, also missed her greatly. He was so miserable, sleeping most of the day and refusing to eat. Which was devastating to see.

After a few months of trying, my mum finally convinced my step dad to get another dog. Boss, the 18-month-old Dogue De Bordeaux. He is by no means a replacement, I actually think Tia would have loved him! He’s settling in just fine and Scruff already adores him. I can’t resist visiting every couple of weeks, just to give them both a big cuddle!

2. I chose a dissertation subject!

I can’t believe I’m actually saying this, as it’s something I’ve been dreading since starting uni, but I only went and did it! For those of you who don’t know, I’m studying BSc Zoo Biology and I’m very quickly approaching my third year (tomorrow eeeek). The working title is ‘High Mortality and Short Lifespans in Captive Elephants’, kinda sad I know, but something I feel very passionate about. I’m actually really looking forward to getting stuck in!

elephant

The most beautiful photo I have ever taken!

3. I went to see Bad Moms!

I’m not able to go to the cinema often (it’s so expensive!?), but I had to see Bad Moms. I absolutely adore Mila Kunis. Not only do we both have heterochromia, but she’s absolutely hilarious too. The film was one of the funniest I’ve ever seen. I laughed so much that I cried, completely ruining my makeup. I definitely recommend going to see it, you will not regret it! (Remember: waterproof mascara).

4. I feel good!

For some reason, September has been such a good month for me, my mental health seems to have weirdly improved. (Apart from one awful anxiety attack last week). I have been dreading going back to university all summer, but something about September has made me actually look forward to it. I’ve had so many more happy days that sad days, I just hope it stays!

5. I started my blog!

pop

 So Jade Writes is about a month old now and I’m so happy with how it’s going. I originally only started my blog so that I could put my thoughts down on metaphorical paper, I didn’t really think anyone would read it. But since starting my blog, I have met some amazing people (especially in the #TalkMH group on Twitter) and I’ve gained around 400 followers too! I’m super excited to see how the upcoming months go and I’m so glad that I now have blogging in my life.

6. I also…

Completed Stranger Things, re-watched Breaking Bad, started The Walking Dead (without getting scared), got back into art (please check out my depop), bought cute wine glasses (forgot to buy wine), started reading a David Attenborough book, only wore makeup 3 times, stopped using heat on my hair and won lots of competitions (post coming soon).

Hope you all have an amazing Halloween month! I personally can’t wait to get carving those pumpkins!

jade-x

All images are my own.

4 thoughts on “September Roundup!

  1. Paola Arredondo says:

    Love your art, its amazing! I also loved Bad Moms, I had missed Mila in movies and congrats on your 3 months of blogging! Stranger Things was the highlight to my September. Thanks for stopping by on my blog, I’m here to return the love<3 keep in touch

    Like

Leave a Reply

