The ‘God’ of All Playlists

I can’t do anything or go anywhere without music. When I have my headphones in, the whole world seems irrelevant and I am able to just wander around in my own little bubble. Over the years, my boyfriend and I have managed to accumulate 322 songs and counting (that’s 19 hours and 41 minutes worth of music – if you were wondering) on one single playlist, aptly named ‘car’ (because we listen to it in the car, obviously). The playlist includes such a mixed bag tracks, so I thought I’d share a few of my favourites! 

playlist-homepage

You can find the playlist on Spotify (djrj123), or just scroll to the bottom of the page to find the link!

Seriously Strong Cheddar

The cheesy tracks are (if you haven’t guessed) completely down to me and not David. Every now and then love adding in a super cheesy track to annoy him, because it’s hilarious when he has run out of ‘skips’ and has no choice but to listen! Some of my favourites (and Davids least favourites) are as followed:

  • Spandau Ballet – Gold
  • Beastie Boys – Fight For Your Right
  • Simple Minds – Don’t You (Forget About Me)
  • Starship – We Built This City
  • S Club 7 – Bring It All Back, Reach, Don’t Stop Movin’, S Club Party
  • OutKast – Hey Ya!
  • Scouting For Girls – She’s So Lovely
  • The Streets – Fit But You Know It
  • Nickelback – Rockstar
  • The Hoosiers – Goodbye Mr A, Worried About Ray
  • The Offspring – Pretty Fly (For a White Guy)
  • Shaggy – It Wasn’t Me
  • Coolio – Gangsta’s Paradise
  • Daryl Hall & John Oats – You Make My Dreams
  • Plastic Bertrand – Ca Plane Pour Moi
  • Busted – Air hostess, Year 3000
  • Spice Girls – When Two Become One, Stop Right Now

Old Skool But Cool

Remember when your parents used to put ‘their music’ on in the car and you’d absolutely hate it? Well now I love pretty much all of ‘their music’ (don’t tell them though!).

  • The Mavericks – Dance The Night Away
  • Phil Collins – You Can’t Hurry Love
  • The Jam – Town Called Malice
  • Johnny Cash – Get Rhythm
  • The Dandy Warhols – Bohemian Like You
  • Nirvana – Smells Like Teen Spirit
  • The Clash – Should I Stay Or Should I Go
  • Fleetwood Mac – Go Your Own Way
  • David Bowie – Let’s Dance
  • Dexys Midnight Runners – Come On Eileen
  • The Human League – Don’t You Want Me
  • Madness – Our House, Baggy Trousers
  • Chuck Berry – Johnny B. Goode
  • Elvis Presley – Blue Suede Shoes, Jailhouse Rock
  • Steelers Wheel – Stuck In The Middle With You
  • James Brown – I Got You (I Feel Good)
  • Guns N’ Roses – Welcome To The Jungle
  • The Kinks – Lola

Things I’m Not Cool Enough To Listen To

David and I are probably the least coolest people in the world, but we know every lyric to each of these songs. If that’s not something to brag about, I don’t know what is.

  • Kanye West Ft. Jamie Foxx – Gold Digger
  • JAY Z and Kanye West – Who Gon Stop Me, Otis
  • Blackstreet Ft. Dr. Dre & Queen Pen – No Diggity
  • N.W.A – Straight Outta Compton
  • Dr. Dre Ft. Snoop Dogg – Still D.R.E

The Ultimate Pre-Drinks Playlist

I feel like the fact that this section, is waaaaay longer than all the others, says a lot about our life.

  • Dizzee Rascal – Holiday, Dance Wiv Me
  • The Killers – Mr. Brightside
  • George Ezra – Budapest
  • The Vaccines – If You Wanna, Teenage Icon
  • Arctic Monkeys – Fluorescent Adolescent
  • Kaiser Chiefs – I Predict a Riot
  • Oasis – Lyla, Wonderwall, Don’t Look Back In Anger, She’s Electric
  • Gossip – Standing In The Way Of Control
  • Green Day – Basket Case
  • Arctic Monkeys – Fake Tails Of San Francisco
  • Amy Winehouse – Rehab
  • Circa Waves – T-Shirt Weather
  • Vampire Weekend – A-Punk
  • Drenge – Bloodsports
  • Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars – Uptown Funk
  • The Wombats – Let’s Dance To Joy Division
  • Jet – Are You Going To Be My Girl
  • Foster The People – Pumped Up Kicks
  • Gnarls Barkley – Crazy
  • Jake Bugg – Trouble Town
  • The View – Same Jeans
  • Blur – Girls and Boys
  • Run DMC Ft. Aerosmith – Walk This Way
  • The Automatic – Monster
  • Tame Impala – Elephant
  • Bastille – Pompeii
  • Drowners – Luv Hold Me Down, Long Hair
  • Little Comets – One Night In October
  • Bob Marley & The Wailers – Three Little Birds
  • D.I.D – Teenage Daughter
  • The Black Keys – Lonely Boy
  • The Cure – Friday Night I’m In Love
  • The Zutons – Valerie
  • Jamie T – Zombie
  • Foals – My Number
  • The Libertines – Can’t Stand Me Now, Don’t Look Back Into The Sun
  • Catfish and The Bottleman – Kathleen, Pacifier

Totes Emosh

Because sometimes you just need a good cry. I usually save these for my ‘guaranteed break down’, half way through a uni assignment.

  • The Goo Goo Dolls – Iris
  • The Forest Rangers and The White Buffalo – Come Join The Murder (Sons Of Anarchy)
  • Nizlopi JCB
  • Hozier – Take Me To Church
  • The Streets – Dry Your Eyes
  • S Club 7 – Have You Ever
  • Rod Stewart – Handbags & Gladrags
  • Joy Division – Love Will Tear Us Apart

Songs To Remind Us Of Home

I am originally from Sheffield and David is from Hartlepool, however, we now both live together in Nottingham. Living away from home can sometimes get a little sad. So I love listening to songs by artists from ‘home’. Arctic Monkeys, Reverend and The Makers, Pulp and Drenge are all from (or from around) Sheffield. The Jar Family are an amazing band from Hartlepool (check them out!).

  • Arctic Monkeys – When The Sun Goes Down
  • Arctic Monkeys – A Certain Romance
  • Arctic Monkeys – Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair
  • The Last Shaddow Puppets Standing Next To Me
  • Reverend and The Makers – Heavyweight Champion Of The World
  • Pulp – Common People
  • Drenge – Fuckabout
  • The Jar Family – Poolie Strutt
  • The Jar Family – In For a Penny

I really, really enjoyed making this post! If you enjoyed reading, be sure to check out and follow our full playlist on Spotify @djrj123!

“Rock n’ roll seems like it’s faded away sometimes, but it will never die.”
– Alex Turner

 

jade-x

8 thoughts on “The ‘God’ of All Playlists

Leave a Reply

