The Happiness Planner – A Review.

If you have read any previous posts of mine, you will know that I suffer with anxiety and depression. I am always looking for ways to improve my mood and earlier this year, I came across…

The Happiness Planner!!!

So I thought I would let you all know what I thought!

dscn1088-2

I adore the design – Simple and shiny, with a sleeve to protect the planner.

For those of you who don’t know, The Happiness Planner is a company which produces a variety of journals which, in their own words are “designed to help you live a happier and more fulfilling life by mastering the art of positive thinking, mindfulness, gratitude, and self-development”. They sell a range of products, including ‘The 100-Day Planner’ and ‘The 52-Week Journal as well as smaller notebooks, refills and inspirational pencils! I tested ‘The 100-Day Planner’ in pink (obviously!).

Pros

  1. It allows you to understand what is making your mood low. 

I really enjoyed using this planner, as it gave me the ability to control my thoughts and the activities I did each day. Getting my thoughts down on paper, really helped me reflect on the things that were making me unhappy – giving me the chance to try to avoid them in the future.

2. It makes you see the good in yourself.

At the beginning of the planner, there is the opportunity to evaluate yourself as a person – listing your strengths, weaknesses, what makes you happy or unhappy and what you have achieved so far. This really makes you think and appreciate all the little things that you love and all the things you are great at! It also allows you to set goals and form action plans for the next 100 days, to try to integrate more of the ‘happy stuff’ into your life. I personally loved the structure it gave me, as I’m a bit of a control freak.

dscn1081-2

It made me see all of the great things I have done and allowed me to think about all the things I would like to do in the future.

3. There’s no pressure to fill it in every day.

I love that both dated and undated journals are available. I prefered the undated planner, as I didn’t feel pressured into religiously filling it in each day – if I missed a day, it wasn’t an issue. I normally go back to my planner when I am having rough patches, instead of filling it in when I feel like my life is going somewhat okay.

4. Lots of personal touches.

The planner is also full of positive and inspirational quotes, which can really cheer you up if you’re having a bad day. There’s also a great selection of colours, refills and accessories too. I especially like the sleeve inside the front cover, which I filled with lots of things that made me happy!

Cons

I did struggle to find negatives with the planner, as it does exactly what it claims to do. However, two improvements I would suggest are:

  1. Please make the boxes larger!

They are probably adequately sized for some people, however my writing is big and messy! I struggled to fit everything that I wanted to, into the boxes and felt I was always restricted in the amount I could write each day.

2. The price.

I do find the prices pretty steep, as I could recreate the idea of The Happiness Planner in an everyday journal or notebook for a fraction of the price. ‘The 100-Day Planner’ which I tested, is priced £20 for 1, £35 for 2 or £48 for 3 (excluding shipping). I do love the fact that if you buy more, they are cheaper – but I personally cannot afford to pay £48 per 300 days on journals. ‘The 100-Day Planner’ is also one of the cheapest – compared to the new ‘Peony Planner’ which is priced at £52 for one!

Would I recommend it and would I buy another?

Overall, the planner was really enjoyable to fill in and I feel it did make a difference to my mood, over the days I wrote in it. It also allowed me to appreciate the things I’m good at, instead of just focusing on the bad. I love the fact you are able to set goals at the beginning of the 100 days, review them throughout and evaluate how it went at the end. It gives your days great structure, allowing you to write a schedule and state what you are hoping from the day. I also really love all the colours and design options, as well as the extras you can purchase (especially the cute inspirational pencils!).

After spending 100 days using this product, I would definitely recommend it to someone, like myself, struggling with their mental health. It does make days a lot more enjoyable and gives you something to focus on each morning.

Having said that, if I am completely honest, I probably wouldn’t purchase another planner – purely because of the price. I feel now I have the foundations to positive thinking in my original planner, I can continue my routine in a regular journal and still achieve the same result.

Never the less, fantastic product!

dscn1090-2

– Jade x

All images are my own.

Thankyou to The Happiness Planner for a fantastic product.

19 thoughts on “The Happiness Planner – A Review.

  1. Jessica Emily says:

    This sounds right up my street! I love things like this that can help me organise my thoughts! Thanks for being honest about the price – maybe I’ll put it on my Christmas list 😉 great post! X

    Like

  2. Claire @ bletheringbylinley says:

    I’m an obsessive journaler and diary filler, so I’ve wondered whether a planner like this would be a good way to combine what I currently have in several different notebooks – the price is a bit off putting, but maybe Santa will consider it… 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

