My Favourite Things To Photograph

When it comes to dealing with anxiety and depression, this week has been rather difficult. I have the worries of starting 3rd year at university looming over me and my mental health is already suffering. At times like this, I try to get myself out or occupy my mind in some way – even though it’s extremely hard to do so. Whether this be writing, painting or taking photographs – it never fails to take my mind off things. This week, I have found that photography has really helped bring my mood up, so I thought I’d share a few of my favourite things to photograph, along with a few of my own images! 

(Hover over the images for more info or click to see them bigger!)

img_20160914_223200

Animals

Animals definitely have to be one of my favourite things to capture (probably because I’m completely obsessed with every animal on the planet!). I’m also extremely lucky to always have fantastic opportunities to get up close to many species, as I am currently studying Zoo Animal Biology at uni. Out of all the animals I have ever snapped, meerkats are definitely the most photogenic and have heaps of personality!

meerkat-3

dscn1050-2

elephant

Flowers

The possibilities are endless, when it comes to photographing flowers. All you have to do, is walk into your garden or local park and you’ve already captured a handful of different species. I find flowers super versatile and extremely satisfying to capture – the pictures are always beautiful too!

Britain

I think we Brits take the beauty of our country for granted. Everyone is desperate to travel and see the world, but have they seen Britain? I have been lucky enough to spend my time in various parts of the UK, whether that be at home in Yorkshire, at University in Nottinghamshire, visiting my boyfriends family up north or all the places I see travelling in-between. Some places in Britain have breath-taking views, which I absolutely love to capture.

The countryside around Yorkshire is so beautiful and I could spend hours just sitting, admiring the views. It’s also a great escape; the perfect place to gather your thoughts and be alone with your camera for a while.

castleton-3

I know I say negative things about living in Nottingham; it’s definitely not my favourite place. But I have taken some amazing photos here, especially at Wollaton Hall and Deer Park.

My boyfriend is from Hartlepool, in the North East of England. The tiny little town, has some of the most stunning views I have seen in the UK. The sea is always so peaceful and relaxing, even when the waves are going mental in winter. The place is also full of history; old piers, cannons, lighthouses and even ships! I always take my camera, whenever we go up to visit.

pool4

hpool9

Travel

As much as I love Britain, I do adore travelling to new countries too. I always find that the landscapes and buildings look amazing in the sun, which makes photographs look beautiful. I love travelling because I always find that the excitement overrules the anxiety – which is amazing!

Brussels, Belgium is one of my favourite cities in the whole world. David and I went for our very first holiday and I enjoyed every minute! Below, is a photo of Grand Place (taken on my old camera, so it’s kinda blurry), the very heart of Brussels. This place literally took our breath away.

brussels4

Another one of my favourite places to photograph, is Catalonia, Spain. There are so many beautiful buildings and views, as well of lots of Roman ruins to explore.

taragona

 

So there we have it, my favourite things to photograph! You don’t have to be the best photographer or have the best camera, to enjoy photography. As long as it gives you something to focus on when you’re feeling low, it’s doing its job! It doesn’t even have to be photography, choose something you enjoy and run with it! Honestly, it helps so much!

“The camera makes you forget you’re there. It’s not like you are hiding but you forget, you are just looking so much.” – Ansel Adams

jade-x

All images are my own.

6 thoughts on “My Favourite Things To Photograph

  1. ambambe says:

    You have some beautiful photos on here! I hope that you feel better soon. I struggle with anxiety myself and know how tough it can be. Be strong.

    Love Amber – ambambe.com xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

